Wonderful Pistachio Breakfast Cake

Because of the nasty virus, last week I had the chance to rest and spend some time in front of tv (is that possible)? I was absolutely enjoying tv moments with Jamie Oliver and his great new show” Jamie’s Food Escapes”, which started last Wednesday,Feb. 16, on the Cooking Channel.

According to the network, in the six-episode series, the chef will be “heading off the tourist track and exploring the authentic ingredients and extraordinary characters” of various regions. I saw episode filmed in Greece, Athens. Wonderful show, authentic food, nice people, Feta cheese, Greek salad off course and amazing Pistachio cake. Today I decided to try the recipe. Everybody in my family loves pistachios in every possible way. My daughter is big fan of pistachio ice cream and little and big men love everything crunchy, baked or simply row from the Farmers market.
This is very easy recipe to make like Jamie said, you make it in one bowl and then bake it in another pan. Only think I did, I changed the amount of sugar and oil in the recipe to make it little bit lighter.

Pistachio cake

5 eggs
1 cup Greek non fat yogurt
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup ground almonds
1 lemon, for zest and juice
1 orange, for zest and juice
1/4 cup pastry flour
1 cup semolina
1/4 cup olive oil

In the large size bowl, using whisk mix all the ingredients listed above (except juices from the fruit) till mix is nice and smooth.
Preheat oven to 350F and bake for 30 minutes.
Let the cake cool completely.

Honey Syrup with Pistachios

2 cups pistachios, out of the shell
1 cup honey
1 Lemon, squeezed juice
1 Orange, squeezed juice

Using medium sauce pan over low heat roast pistachios for few minutes. Add honey, mix nuts and honey together just a little bit, don’t let it boil. Add juices from squeezed lemon and orange. Set aside.
Using sharp knife make little lines all over the cake. Sponge effect will happened from cool cake and hot syrup, plus syrup will go all the way through the cake creating wonderful moist texture and flavor.
This cake is absolutely amazing and I could easily eat it for breakfast with fresh cup of coffee and bowl of non fat Greek yogurt.
I am very happy that I learned to make this delightful dessert. Thank you Jamie:)


Pistachio

Honey on FoodistaHoney

Pistachios are rich source of energy and contain many health benefiting nutrients, minerals, antioxidants and vitamins that are essential for optimum health. These nuts are rich in monounsaturated fatty acids like oleic acid. They are rich source of many phyto-chemical substances that may contribute to their overall antioxidant activity, including carotenes, vitamin E, and polyphenolic antioxidant compounds. Research studies have been suggestive of that these compounds help body remove toxic oxygen free radicals and thus, protect body from diseases, cancers as well as infections. Pistachios are an excellent source of vitamin-E, especially rich in gamma tocopherol; contain about 23g per100 g. The nuts are packed with many important B-complex groups of vitamins such as riboflavin, niacin, thiamin, pantothenic acid, vitamin B-6, and folates.

One tablespoon of natural sweetener honey contains 64 calories. Honey has a healthy Glycemic Index (GI), meaning that its sugars can be gradually absorbed into the bloodstream to result in better digestion. Nectar itself is composed mainly of sucrose and water. Bees add enzymes that create additional chemical compounds, inverting the sucrose into fructose and glucose, and then evaporate the water so that the resulting product will resist spoiling.

12 comments

  1. I love pistachio cake but I haven’t made it in years because pistachios are very expensive, even if we produce them here in Greece. I may try Jamie’s version as it sounds very good.

    1. Ivy, here in CA we can find them very reasonable priced. My friend from Seattle told me that there are expensive too. Well from time to time it is nice and wise to enjoy them, thanks for the comment:)

  2. I watch Jamie, too! I like the episodes when he goes off into the countryside and explores the recipes of the “selo” :) I think I need to tell him to go and visit my Baba…she’s an awesome cook!

    Can I get a slice of that, please?! Looks so good!

  3. Oh I have to make this! I love pistachios! Thanks for sharing your creativity in the kitchen! Your words, recipes and photos always bring a big smile to my face. Have a great Monday!

Leave a Reply

