Light Butter Mochi

I wanted to make this recipe for the long time. It reminds me of Hawaii. Butter Mochi is amazing experience with wonderful sweetness, taste of coconut and lovely texture.

My kids love this dessert. Few days ago my hubby surprised me and bought Mochiko rice flour and Coconut milk.

What a combo. I did made some changes to original recipe to decrease amount of sugar and fat. Original Coconut milk has 17% fat, light has only 4% and you can’t tell the difference.

So here we go, recipe for the Light Butter Mochi:

Ingredients:

1 box Mochiko sweet rice flour
1 cup light brown sugar
1 butter stick, melted
4 eggs, beaten
2 tsp. vanilla sugar
1 can light coconut milk

Preheat oven to 350°F.
Using electric mixer beat the egg whites first, then add the yolks. Add sugar, vanilla sugar, butter and coconut milk to the batter.
Slowly add rice flour and combine till frothy.
Pour batter into the lightly greased ramekins or larger baking dish.
Bake for 50 minutes.
Let it cool and serve.

Mochi has the best texture at the room temperature.
Now we need tunes & Hawaiian music and sound of the waves.
Aloha:)

4 comments

  1. Oh my! I’ve never heard of mochi before, but they look and sound delicious. Coconut milk has to be one of my favorite baking discoveries. Thank you for sharing with me. I hope you are having a lovely start to the first week of 2011!

  2. Thank You Monet, yes these are special and different little treats. I love to make them in individual servings, that way everybody gets their own treat and there’s no fight who will get bigger piece.
    All best:)

  3. Thank Sandra, that is another great thing about traveling, new places new dishes, flavors and ingredients….I love that…explore and taste:)

Comments are closed.