Soup of the Day- French Onion

Whenever we visit restaurants and there is a good and recommended French onion soup on the menu, I am willing to try it out. My kids are a big fans of this particular soup, so yesterday they gave me a challenge to try to make my own French onion soup. I have to add that kids were very excited and helpful at the same time. They were waiting by the the broiler drawer to finish it’s work and couldn’t wait to see the result. Off course I accepted the soup challenge, how can I refuse right? Result is, amazing soup. I think the best description was that during the lunch time everybody was busy with spoon and bowl thing, slurping and smiling and the only sound you could hear was “Mmmm”!!
Best thing is, my dear family was very happy and super satisfied with this wonderful dish.

French Onion Soup
Serves 4

Ingredients:

– 2 large sweet onions, cut into ribbons
– 2 cans organic low sodium chicken broth
– 4 dry bay leaves
– sea salt, to taste
– 4 garlic cloves, grated
– fresh ground black pepper, to taste
– 1 teaspoon brown sugar
– 4 slices crusty whole wheat artisan bread
– 4 slices reduced fat mozzarella cheese
– 1 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

Directions

Using big pot, drizzle the extra virgin olive oil over medium heat. Add onions and stir until tender for about 20 minutes. Add bay leaves, garlic, salt and pepper and sugar. It will help with caramelization process, for minute or two. Then add chicken stock plus 2 cups of water. Simmer for 30 minutes.
Heat the oven broiler.
On the bottom of every bowl place the piece of bread on the bottom. Ladle soup into oven safe serving bowls and top every bowl with slice of mozzarella cheese. Broil the soup bowls in the preheated oven until cheese bubbles and browns slightly.
Serve right away, enjoy eating every bite with the spoon and the fork.
Can’t wait to make it again:)

When cooking I am always trying to make meals that are low in fat and healthy as possible. This time I cut on fat, and used chicken instead of beef broth.
Onions contain as many as 150 phytochemicals. The flavonoid quercetin, an antioxidant (phytochemical) found in onions, helps eliminate free radicals in the body, inhibits low-density lipoprotein oxidation, protects and regenerates vitamin E, and helps to circumvent the harmful effects of heavy metal ions.


Onion

10 comments

    1. Adelina, thank you so much, glad that you like the soup. By the way I was very excited when I saw that you are supporter of Jamie Oliver and his Food revolution. I love Jamie’s work, his ideas and recipes…. he is my favorite chef. Nice to meet you:)

  1. I ADORE french onion soup, but I don’t make it at home. I need to give it a try. Thank you so much for sharing with me tonight. I always know I will find something that will make me smile! Your sweet and creative spirit brings me such happiness. I hope you have a great day tomorrow full of hope and love.

Comments are closed.