Sunny Granola & Dry Papaya Bars

Every time when I found myself in the supermarket isle with “healthy”bars, I am looking at the products and prices at the same time….keep thinking why not to try and make them at home and put favorite ingredients that would taste amazing in home crafted bars? Yes, I will do that….and I did.
After nice shopping with my kids in bulk section for dry goods and yummy grains (they love to put labels with numbers and food codes) we ended up with very nice combination for the bars.
For the base bar recipe I decided to go with Katie’s recipe from Running Times. Love the recipe but I added different fruit, nut, seeds and chocolate off course:)

Sunny Granola Bars with Dry Papaya

Ingredients:

2 cups rolled oats
1 cup coconut flakes
1/4 cup wheat germ
1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup honey
1/2 cup natural peanut butter
1/2 cup dry papaya, cut in cubes
1/4 cup peanuts
1/4 cup semi sweet chocolate chip
1/4 cup dry pepitas, sunflower kernels

Preheat oven to 325F.
Combine oats, coconut, wheat germ and any nuts and seeds you wish to toast for the bars in the pan. Toast for 20 minutes mixing and turning at least once during toast time so they are all evenly toasted.
While the oats toast, combine butter, sugar and honey in a small saucepan.

Cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until the butter is melted and sugar dissolved. Add the peanut butter at this time and stir thoroughly.

Put the toasted oat mixture into the large mixing bowl. Add dry fruit and chocolate. Drizzle the syrup over oats and sir until they are evenly coated. Return everything to the pan and press mixture in to the form square mass.
Bake at 350F for 10-12 minutes or longer if you like crispier bars.
Remove pan from the oven and let it cool completely before cutting. Bars will keep for a week in a nice storage container.

Wonderful tasty, crunchy and nutritious snack. Lovely with coffee, tea or glass of cold milk. So convenient.
Enjoy.

15 comments

  1. I love a good granola bar, especially home made. You are so smart to make your own. They are cheaper and you know the ingredients that are in them. No preservatives.๐Ÿ™‚

    Kristi

  2. I love granola and I make it at least once a week. I am bookmarking this one so I can add it to my granola repertoire…. I have about 14 different recipes so far.๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I have been searching for a good bar recipe. Thanks so much for sharing this. They look so delicious and the texture is amazing.

Comments are closed.