Mini Donuts, Baked with Caramel, Pecans & Peanuts

All right, Donuts….hmmm…Many people love the taste of warm and sweet donuts. For me, factor of pastry swimming in the pool of oil and quantity of sugar in fake frosting, I forget about it.
Still, few days ago while visiting Sur La Table store, my eye spotted this cute little donuts pan. I was debating at first, but then my ideas kicked in and I was thinking how to bake this mini donuts and for the frosting, do something more fancy….My kids were following me every step of the way through the process, taking pictures and making sure that we will make minis again:) So here we go.

I was totally surprised how fast they were done. Perfect idea for weekend breakfast with milk, fresh coffee or tea. Yum.

Makes 12 mini donuts

3/4 cup cake flour
1/4 cup light brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon all spice
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup buttermilk
1 egg
1/4 cup sweet cream butter, melted
1/2 teaspoon vanilla sugar

Preheat oven to 425° F. Spray mini donuts pan with non-stick cooking spray, set aside.
Using stand mixer with the paddle attachment mix together egg, sugar, butter, vanilla and buttermilk. Add flour, baking powder, all spice and salt.

Whisk to combine.
Place the donuts batter into a piping bag or use a sandwich bag, making little opening in the corner.

Pipe batter into donuts pan.
Bake until the tops of the donuts became golden, about 5 minutes. Remove from oven and cool in donuts pan on a wire rack.

Remove from pan and place on wire rack to cool completely.

To make quick Caramel :

2 oz KRAFT caramel bites
2 teaspoons of non-fat milk

Place caramel bits in the small saucepan. Add water and cook on low heat for few minutes until bites completely melt, stirring constantly.
Finish the doughnuts by sprinkling then with hot caramel, pecans and peanut peaces.

Serve warm.
Mini donuts are absolutely amazing, lower in fat, texture is lovely and frosting- perfect fit:)
Enjoy!

18 comments

  1. I’ve seen these mini doughnut pans and often wondered if they were worth the expense. I can see from your doughnuts that my family would be glad I make the investment. 🙂

  2. Very cool! These look so good, they are making my mouth water. I really have been debating on getting one of those donut pans, but oh man, I do not need an “easy” way to make donuts…..I’d definitely do some serious damage if I did!

    1. Patty, good thing is that these donuts are small, bite size, very rich in taste and the best part less calories then regular donuts, so from time to time it is ok to make them:)

  3. I love donuts but it is the fried thing that keeps me away from them. But baked ones sound just like the thing for me. Must hunt those pans down. Thanks for participating in September’s YBR 🙂 Sorry I’m so late in getting here.

Comments are closed.